Are Insider Buying Newsletters Worth It? (2026)
In short: Sometimes. Insider trades are free to read on SEC EDGAR (Form 4); a newsletter only adds value by filtering them. We list 5 insider-focused letters with official prices.
Direct answer: Sometimes. Company insiders must report most trades to the SEC on Form 4, and anyone can read those filings free on the SEC's EDGAR site. An insider buying newsletter is worth paying for only if its filtering and explanation save you time and fit how you invest. We list 5 insider-focused newsletters. Not investment advice.
Insider-focused newsletters we list
| Newsletter | Focus | Schedule | Price (official page) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cabot Insider Edge | Stock picks, Insider buying | Monthly | $49.97/mo or $497/yr |
| Asian Century Stocks | International, Stock picks, Insider buying | Not stated | $48/mo or $480/yr |
| The Insider Buying Report | Insider buying, Trading | Not stated | $35/mo or $340/yr |
| InsiderInsights Daily Ratings Reports | Insider buying | Daily | $249/yr (Pro $49.50/mo or $495/yr) |
| Insider Monkey Monthly Activist Newsletter | Insider buying, Stock picks | Monthly | $499/yr |
When one can be worth it
- You want a short daily or monthly list instead of reading hundreds of filings.
- You want context: why a purchase stands out, and what the business does.
- You want coverage beyond the U.S. For example, Asian Century Stocks includes a monthly report on top Asian insider transactions.
When it probably isn't
- You would only act on one or two ideas a year.
- It promises that insider buying "guarantees" gains.
- You are happy to scan free filings yourself.
Related
All insider buying newsletters · are stock newsletters worth it? · small-cap vs micro-cap newsletters · price index · Cabot lineup (includes Cabot Insider Edge)
Questions
Are insider buying newsletters worth it?
Only if you will use the ideas and the price is small next to what you invest. The raw data is free: insiders report most trades to the SEC on Form 4, which anyone can read on the SEC's EDGAR site. A newsletter's value is in filtering and explaining those filings.
How fast do insiders have to report trades?
Officers, directors and holders of more than 10% generally must file Form 4 by the end of the second business day after the trade, per the SEC's Investor.gov bulletin on insider transactions.
How much do insider buying newsletters cost?
In our directory, paid insider-focused services run from $249 a year (InsiderInsights Daily Ratings Reports) to $499 a year (Insider Monkey Monthly Activist Newsletter), per their official pages.
Does insider buying mean a stock will go up?
No. Insiders buy for many reasons and can be wrong. We do not publish performance claims for any newsletter.
Source for filing rules: Investor.gov (U.S. SEC), "Insider Transactions and Forms 3, 4, and 5" bulletin. Not investment advice.
Browse by
Strategy
- Options (15)
- Dividends (13)
- Value (29)
- Growth (17)
- Swing trading (8)
- Day trading (4)
- Penny stocks (1)
- Tech stocks (12)
- Small & micro caps (15)
- Insider buying (5)
Price
- Free (65)
- Under $10/mo (5)
- Premium (47)
Asset
- Stocks (86)
- ETFs (6)
- International stocks (9)
- Macro & markets (40)
Investor situation
- Beginners (11)
- Retirees (10)
- Income investors (10)
- Active traders (27)
Platform
- Substack (72)
Guides
- How to pick a newsletter
- Free vs paid
- Options glossary
- What is a stock newsletter?
- What newsletters cost (2026)
- Stock Advisor alternatives
- Are stock newsletters worth it?
- Stock Advisor vs Cabot Growth
- SwingTrader vs Mindful Trader
- Cabot newsletters compared
- Stansberry newsletters compared
- Motley Fool services compared
- Small-cap vs micro-cap
- Insider buying newsletters worth it?
- 2026 Awards
- FAQ
Last updated: